top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Shaffer

This is Halloween: My Top 5 Family Friendly Halloween Movies


Halloween is by far my favorite holiday. I love all things spooky, fall, and macabre. So, adding dressing up and candy to the mix just makes this holiday fan-freaking-tastic! When I was a teenager, I loved scary movies, but as an adult, I'm more of a family friendly type of gal... less nightmares and more Sanderson sisters, please. So, here is a countdown list to my top five family friendly Halloween movies of all time. 

Number 5: The Corpse Bride

This Tim Burton movie doesn't get enough recognition. To begin with, it's a great historical representation of life and love in Victorian era Europe, but the fun doesn't stop there. You have an arranged marriage, corsets, stargent women roles, marrying for money, new money, and of course... murder most foul. When this movie comes on, I love watching Victor and Victoria, I can't even with the names, and Victor's clumsy blunder of asking the Corpse Bride, who is the sexiest corpse I've ever seen, to be his leading lady. The symbolism and political satire is strong in this movie, which is why it's a definite must see in my household come Halloween season.

Number 4: ParaNorman 

This movie has it all, ghosts, bullying, zombies, and an ancient witch's curse. I remember watching this movie when it came out on Demand in October of 2012. My son was home sick, and he is very much like his mom, a lover of all things spooky. We rented this movie and watched it as much as we could in the twenty-four hour period. I love Norman, but my favorite character in the movie is Norman's dopey friend, Neil. He's the typical archetype of nerdy outcast who holds the voice of wisdom to the protagonist, but, dude, he is the cutest thing in this movie. Kind of like a Dustin from Stranger Things. You just want to be his friend and defend him against zombies, bullies, and all the demogorgons of the world. 

Number 3: (tied) Disney's Sleepy Hollow and It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

This Disney classic makes my list for multiple reasons: Ichabod Crane, The Headless Horseman, and one humdinger of a mystery. I love classic tales that go bump in the night, and nothing beats this rendition of Washington Irving's spooky tale, with the exception of course to Charlie Brown. I love me some, "Good grief." Every year, I watch both of these classic cartoons with my English class, and often I find myself quoting from Charlie Brown... "I got a rock."

Number 2: The Nightmare Before Christmas

This was a toss up for the number one slot because I love Jack and Sally, so much so that my house is decorated in The NightmareBefore  Christmas for three months out of the year. What stopped me from making this number one is that the movie spans two Holidays, and since I am sticking strictly to my favorite Halloween movies, I couldn't make it number one. That spot is reserved for a movie I watched in the summer of 1993. A movie that I have enjoyed the longest. A movie that makes me want to light black flame candles just so I can meet my favorite sister trio... have you guessed it yet? Well, if not, I'll let you know in the space below.

Number 1: Hocus Pocus

Sisters, Sing! Gosh I love this movie. It never gets old, even if all the ugly chicks are the ones who stay out late. Come on, Hollywood, you know what I'm talking about here. Maybe I've just had a spell put on me, though, and all those children Mary smells aren't really in trouble. Don't worry, y'all, I won't cause amuck around here, anymore.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page